Adv. Honors English I

Announcements

Happy New Year!

Welcome back! I hope your holidays were happy and that you are ready to dive in to a fresh new semester! : ) See you in class!

 

Assignments

Day Date Assignment Due/Lesson Plan
Tues. 1/7/20

WELCOME BACK!

In Class:

  • Hand out PSAT tests
  • Discuss upcoming County CFA (next Wed./Thurs)
  • Discuss research paper topics

Assigned:

  • Read research handout: Intro and sources
  • Choose one movie and two backup movies for your research topic. You can start signing up tomorrow and Thursday, but remember that you will not be able to work on a movie that another student in your class is working on. Movies will be assigned on a first come, first served basis.
  • EOLang p. 343-346: Ex. 1, Ex. 2, Rev. A
  • EOLang p. 497-498: Parallel Structure: Read page 497 and complete Ex. 7 at the top of page 498
Wed. &
Thurs.
1/8/19
-1/9/20

Thursday: Club Rotation C

Due:

In Class:

  • Check/discuss grammar assignments
  • Discuss finding website and database sources (see the Intro and sources handout)
  • Research database and website sources to check if topic is viable

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 347-52: Rev. B and C, Ex. 3, Rev. D
  • Confirm research topic
Fri. 1/10/20

Due:

  • EOLang p. 347-52: Rev. B and C, Ex. 3, Rev. D

In Class:

  • Check/discuss grammar assignments
  • Confirm topics/discuss and research questions
  • Distribute TKAM books

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 353-4: Chapter Review
  • TKAM Vocabulary: Chaps. 1-11 (see handout). Look up parts of speech and definitions for all words. Complete practice and mastery assigned on Vocabulary.com (TKAM 1-11). The longer lists that are assigned will be extra credit, but you must achieve mastery on the lists to receive the credit. Quiz next Friday(?)
  • Read TKAM chapters 1-5. Due next Friday
Mon. 1/13/20

Due:

  • EOLang p. 353-4: Chapter Review

In Class:

  • Check/discuss grammar assignment
  • Discuss grammar test
  • Set up folder to submit research

Assigned:

  • Continue reading TKAM 1-5 (due Friday)
  • Continue Vocabulary.com work (TKAM 1-11 practice and mastery due Friday)
  • Continue finding research sources. Save at least 8 valid sources into your research folder. Due Friday, Jan. 31.
Tues. 1/14/20

In Class:

  • GRAMMAR TEST: Chapter 12: Colons and Semicolons

Assigned:

  • Continue reading TKAM 1-5 (due Friday)
  • Continue Vocabulary.com work (TKAM 1-11 practice and mastery due Friday)
  • Continue finding research sources. Save at least 8 valid sources into your research folder. Due Friday, Jan. 31.
  • EOLang p. 146-148: Ex. 1-2 (Due Friday)
Wed. &
Thurs.
1/15/19
- 1/16/20

Thursday: Club Rotation D

ENGLISH I TNREADY TEST: County CFA

Fri. 1/17/20

Due:

  • Reading: TKAM 1-5
  • Vocabulary.com work (TKAM 1-11 practice and mastery)
  • EOLang p. 146-148: Ex. 1-2

In Class:

  • Quiz: TKAM Chaps. 1-5

Assigned:

  • TKAM Chapters 6-11
  • Study for vocabulary quiz
  • EOLang p. 151-154: Ex. 4-5, Rev. A
Mon. 1/20/20 MLK Jr. Day: No School
Tues. 1/21/20

Due:

  • EOLang p. 151-154: Ex. 4-5, Rev. A

In Class:

  • Vocabulary Quiz: TKAM Chaps. 1-11
  • Check grammar

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 156-158: Ex. 6-7
Wed. 1/22/20

Due:

  • EOLang p. 156-158: Ex. 6-7

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 158-159: Rev. B & C; p. 321-323: Ex: 5-6
Thurs. 1/23/20

Due:

  • TKAM Chapters 6-11
  • EOLang p. 158-159: Rev. B & C; p. 321-323: Ex: 5-6

In Class:

  • Quiz: TKAM Chaps. 6-11

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 161-163: Chapter Test Review: A-C
  • Read TKAM Chaps. 12-22 (Due Fri.)
  • Complete handout: TKAM Figures of Speech (Due Mon.)
Fri. 1/24/20

Homecoming!

No class today.

Mon. 1/27/20

 

Due:

Assigned:

Tues. &
Wed.
1/28/19
- 1/29/20

Thursday: Club Rotation E

Due:

In Class:

Assigned:

Thurs. 1/30/20 ½ Day for Students: No Class
Fri. 1/31/20

Due:

  • Research sources: Be sure you have 8 valid sources saved into the OneDrive folder that you shared with me. You must have at least 2 database sources and at least 2 website sources. Be sure your files are PDFs (not .docs) and that you label them with a number, type of source, and last name of the critic: 01_Data_Ebert. This was assigned on January 14.
  • TKAM Chaps. 12-22
  • Tone worksheet 2

In Class:

Assigned:

  • Continue reading. The remainder of the novel is due Tuesday.
Mon. 2/3/20

Due:

Tues. 2/4/20

Due:

  • TKAM Chaps. 23-31

In Class:

  • Quiz: TKAM Chaps. 23-31
Wed. &
Thurs.
2/5/19
-2/6/20

Thursday: Club Rotation A

Due:

Fri. 2/7/20

Due:

Mon. 2/10/20

Due:

Tues. 2/11/20

Due:

Wed. &
Thurs.
2/12/16
-2/13/20

Thursday: Club Rotation B

Due:

Fri. 2/14/20

Due:

Mon. 2/17/20 PRESIDENTS DAY: No School
Tues. 2/18/20

Due:

Wed. &

Thurs.
2/19/16
-2/20/20

Thursday: Club Rotation C

Due:

Fri. 2/21/20

Due:

Mon. 2/24/20

Due:

Tues. 2/25/20

Due:

Wed. &
Thurs.
2/26/19
-2/27/20

Thursday: Club Rotation D

Due:

Fri. 2/28/20

Due:

Mon. 3/2/20

Due:

Tues. 3/3/20

Election Day: No School

Wed. 3/4/20

Due:

Thurs. 3/5/20

Due:

 

Fri. 3/6/20

End of 3rd Quarter

Due:

Mon. 3/9/20

Due:

Tues. 3/10/20

Due:

Wed. 3/11/19

Due:

Thurs. 3/12/20

½ Day for Students: No Class

Due:

Fri. 3/13/20

Due:

Mon. 3/16/20

Due:

Tues. 3/17/19

Due:

Wed. 3/18/20

Due:

Thurs. 3/19/20

Due:

Fri. 3/20/20

Due:

Mon. 3/23/20

Due:

Tues. 3/24/20

Due:

Wed. 3/25/20

Due:

Thurs. 3/26/20

Due:

Fri. 3/27/20 Spirit Week activities: No Class
Mon.-Fri. 3/30/16-
4/3/20

Spring Break!!: No School

Mon. 4/6/20

Due:

Tues. 4/7/16

Due:

Wed. &
Thurs.
4/8/19
-4/9/20

Due:

Fri. 4/10/20

GOOD FRIDAY: No School

Mon.

4/13/20

ENGLISH I TNREADY TEST: Part 1

Room ??: ???'s room

Tues.

4/14/20

ENGLISH I TNREADY TEST: Parts 2 & 3

Room ??: ???'s room

Wed. 4/15/16

ENGLISH I TNREADY TEST: Part 4

Room ??: ???'s room

Thurs. 4/16/20

Due:

Fri. 4/17/16

Due:

Mon.

4/20/20

Due:

Tues.

4/21/20

Due:

Wed.
& Thurs.
4/22/16
- 4/23/20

Due:

Fri. 4/24/20

Yearbook Distribution Day

Due:

Mon. 4/2720

Due:

Tues. 4/28/20

Due:

Wed. 4/29/20

Due:

Thurs. 4/30/20

Due:

Fri. 5/1/20

Due:

Mon. 5/4/20

Due:

Tues. 5/5/20 AP HUG TEST: No Class
Wed. 5/6/20

Due:

Thurs. 5/7/20

Due:

Fri. 5/8/20

Due:

Mon. 5/11/20

Due:

Tues. 5/12/20

Due:

Wed. 5/13/20

Due:

Thurs. 5/14/20

Due:

Fri. 5/15/20

Due:

Mon. 5/18/20

Due:

Tues. 5/19/20

Due:

Wed. 5/20/20

Due:

Thurs. 5/21/20 Final Exams: No Class
Fri. 5/22/20 Final Exams: No Class
Mon. 5/25/20 MEMORIAL DAY: No School
Tues. 5/26/20 Teacher Work Day: No School
Wed. 5/27/20 Last Day for Students: 8am-10:00am