Honors Shakespeare

Announcements

Check your grades regularly through Skyward using your assigned username and password. If you need assistance with your login information, visit or call our attendance office (ext. 23307).  Use Clever to access assignments in Kiddom. Contact me to obtain online textbook information for this class. You can access your Office 365 account by clicking here. The username and password are the same as your computer login at school.

 

Welcome Back!

I hope you all had a wonderful summer. I'm looking forward to a great year with you! Below is some information to help answer some questions you might have about the upcoming year.

 

Select our texts for this semester!

Be sure to fill out the Shakepeare Reading Preferences form by Wednesday, Aug. 11.

 

Also, in case you need a little more research, I found a few YouTube videos to be pretty good, but hey, I'm a Shakespeare geek. Also, be careful--some of the videos give complete summaries of some of the plays, so if you don't like spoilers, you may want to skip those parts. Here are the links:

  1. Shakespeare's Early Days: Crash Course Theater #14
  2. Shakespeare's Tragedies and an Acting Lesson: Crash Course Theater #15
  3. Comedies, Romances, and Shakespeare's Heroines: Crash Course Theater #16

Posted 8/4/21

Assignments

Note: Unless otherwise stated, these assignments are listed on the days they are due. This includes reading assignments. Most reading assignments will be quizzed on the day they are due.

Day Date Assignment Due/Lesson Plan
Fri. 8/6/21

FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL! (2 hours)

WELCOME!!

In 1st Period Only

Tues. 8/10/21

In Class:

  • Discussion of class format and possible works to read through the semester
Thurs. 8/12/21

In Class:

  • Read Taming of the Shrew (TS): Induction
  • Watch Globe production
Fri. 8/13/21

In Class:

  • Read TS Act 1
  • Watch Globe production
Tues. 8/17/21

In Class:

  • Read TS Act 2
  • Watch Globe production
Thurs. 8/19/21

In Class:

  • Read TS Act 3
  • Watch Globe production
Fri. 8/20/21

In Class:

  • Read TS Act 4
Tues. 8/24/21

In Class:

  • Read TS Act 5
  • Watch Globe production
Thurs. 8/26/21

In Class:

  • Fiinish Globe production of TS
  • Finish our discussion of TS
  • Begin reading King Lear (KL)
Fri. 8/27/21

In Class:

  • Read KL Act 1
Mon. 8/30/21

In Class:

  • Read KL Act 2
Wed. 9/1/21

In Class:

  • Watch KL Acts 1-2
Fri. 9/3/21 NO SCHOOL!
Mon. 9/6/21 NO SCHOOL: LABOR DAY!
Tues. 9/7/21

In Class:

  • Read KL Act 3
Thurs. 9/9/21

In Class:

  • Watch KL Acts 2-3
Tues. 9/14/21

In Class:

  • Read KL Acts 4-5
Thurs. 9/16/21 THURSDAY: NO CLASS: EARLY DISMISSAL FOR STUDENTS
Fri. 9/17/21

In Class:

  • Watch KL Acts 4-5
Tues. 9/21/21

In Class:

  • Read Much Ado about Nothing (MA) Acts 1-2
Thurs. 9/23/21

In Class:

  • Read MA Act 3
  • Watch MA Acts 1-2
Fri. 9/24/21

In Class:

  • Read MA Act 4
Mon. 9/27/21

In Class:

  • Read MA Act 5
  • Watch MA Act 3
Thurs. 9/30/21

In Class:

  • Watch MA Acts 4-5
Fri. 10/1/21 End of Quarter 1
Mon.-Fri. 10/4/21–
10/8/21
FALL BREAK!
Tues. 10/12/21

In Class:

  • Begin reading Hamlet (Ham): Act 1.1-3
Wed. 10/13/21

In Class:

  • Read Ham Act 1.4

Thurs. 10/14/21

Report Cards Distributed

In Class:

  • Read Ham Act 1.5
  • Watch Ham Act 1
Wed.
10/20/21

In Class:

  • Read Ham Acts 2–3.1
  • Watch Act 2
    Thursday 10/22: Parent/Teacher Conferences 3:00-6:00: Please email me to set up a time to meet.
Fri. 10/22/21

In Class:

  • Read Ham Act 3.2–3.3
Tues. 10/26/21

In Class:

  • Read Ham Acts 3.4–4.5
  • Watch Act 3
Thurs. 10/28/21

In Class:

  • Read Ham Acts 4.6–5.2
  • Watch Act 4.1-3
Fri. 10/29/21

In Class:

  • Watch Act 4.4–5.2
Tues. 11/2/21

In Class:

  • Begin reading Twelfth Night (TN): Acts 1-2
Thurs. 11/4/21

In Class:

  • Watch TN: Acts 1-2
Fri. 11/5/21

In Class:

  • Read TN: Acts 3-4.1
Tues. 11/9/21

In Class:

  • Read TN: Acts 4.2-5
  • Watch TN: Acts 2-3
Thurs. 11/11/21 NO CLASS: VETERANS DAY
Fri. 11/12/21

In Class:

  • Watch TN: Acts 4-5
  • Assign parts for Henry VIII (H8)
Tues. 11/16/21

In Class:

  • Read Henry VIII (H8): Act 1–2.1
Thurs. 11/18/21

In Class:

  • Read Henry VIII (H8): 2.2–2.4
Fri. 11/19/21

In Class:

  • Read Henry VIII (H8): Act 3
  • Watch Henry VIII (H8)
Mon. 11/22/21 7-period schedule: ACT Cert for high school: No class
Tues. 11/23/21

7-period schedule

In Class:

  • Read Henry VIII (H8): Act 4–5.2.237
Wed. -Fri. 11/24/21
-11/26/21

THANKSGIVING BREAK!

Tues. 11/30/21

In Class:

  • Read Henry VIII (H8): Act 5.2.238–Epilogue
  • Assign parts forThe Tempest (Tem)
  • Read Tem: 1.1
Thurs. 12/2/21

In Class:

  • Read Tem: 1.2–2.1
Fri. 12/3/21

In Class:

  • Read Tem: 2.2–Act 3
Tues. 12/7/21

In Class:

  • Read Tem: 4
Thurs. 12/9/21

In Class:

  • Read Tem: 5
  • Watch Tem
Fri. 12/10/21

In Class:

  • Watch Tem
Mon. 12/13/21

In Class:

  • Watch Tem
Tues. 12/14/21

MID-TERM EXAMS: 1st & 2nd Periods

Wed. 12/15/21

MID-TERM EXAMS: 3rd & 4th Periods

Thurs. 12/16/21

MID-TERM EXAMS: 5th & 6th Periods

Fri. 12/17/21

MID-TERM EXAMS: 7th Period & Make-Up Exams

 

HAVE A WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS BREAK!

 

 

Video Resources

Background