Adv. Honors English I

 

 

Assignments

Day Date Assignment Due/Lesson Plan
Mon. 1/8/18

WELCOME BACK!

In Class:

Assigned:

  • TKAM Vocabulary Chaps. 1-11 (see handout). Look up parts of speech and definitions for words 1-7 (amiable through malevolent). This list has been assigned on Vocabulary.com for those who want to use it. Quiz Friday.
  • EOLang p. 146-148: Ex. 1-2
Tues. 1/9/18

Due:

  • TKAM Vocabulary Chaps. 1-11 (see handout). Look up parts of speech and definitions for words 1-7 (amiable through malevolent).
  • EOLang p. 146-148: Ex. 1-2

In Class:

  • Check grammar
  • Discuss TKAM Vocabulary Chaps. 1-11. Quiz Friday.

Assigned:

  • TKAM Vocabulary Chaps. 1-11 (see handout). Look up parts of speech and definitions for words 8-15 (moritified through vapid).This list has been assigned on Vocabulary.com for those who want to use it. Quiz Friday.
  • EOLang p. 151-154: Ex. 4-5, Rev. A
Wed. &
Thurs.
1/10/16
-1/11/18

Thursday: Club Rotation E

Due:

  • TKAM Vocabulary Chaps. 1-11 (see handout). Look up parts of speech and definitions for words 8-15 (moritified through vapid).
  • EOLang p. 151-154: Ex. 4-5, Rev. A

In Class:

  • Check grammar
  • Finish discussing TKAM Vocabulary Chaps. 1-11. Quiz Friday.
  • To Kill a Mockingbird (TKAM) novels assigned

Assigned:

  • TKAM Chapters 1-5 due Wednesday
  • Study for vocabulary quiz
  • EOLang p. 156-158: Ex. 6-7
Fri. 1/12/18

SNOW DAY!: No School

Mon. 1/15/18 MLK Jr. Day: No School
Tues.-Fri. 1/16/18
- 1/19/18

SNOW DAYS!: No School

Mon. 1/22/18

Due:

  • EOLang p. 156-158: Ex. 6-7

In Class:

  • Check grammar
  • TKAM background

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 158-159: Rev. B & C
  • Finish reading TKAM Chaps. 1-5. Quiz tomorrow.
Tues. 1/23/18

Due:

  • EOLang p. 158-159: Rev. B & C
  • TKAM Chapters 1-5

In Class:

  • Quiz: TKAM Chaps. 1-5
  • Check grammar. Discuss reading.

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 161-163: Chapter Test Review: A & B
  • Study for vocab. quiz from TKAM Chaps. 1-11
Wed. &
Fri.
1/24/18
& 1/26/18

Friday: Club Rotation A

Due:

  • EOLang p. 161-163: Chapter Test Review: A & B

In Class:

  • Vocabulary Quiz: TKAM Chaps. 1-11
  • Check Grammar

Assigned:

  • Read TKAM Chaps. 6-11. Quiz Monday.
  • EOLang p. 161-163: Chapter Test Review: C; p. 321-323: Ex: 5-6
Thurs. 1/25/18

Homecoming!

No class today.

Mon. 1/29/18

Due:

  • EOLang p. 161-163: Chapter Test Review: C; p. 321-323: Ex: 5-6
  • TKAM Chapters 6-11

In Class:

  • Quiz: TKAM Chaps. 6-11

Assigned:

Tues. &
Wed.
1/30/18
-1/31/18

Tuesday: Even Block, Wednesday: Odd Block

Tuesday: Club Rotation B

In Class:

  • Grammar Test: Chapter 4: The Clause

Assigned:

Thurs. 2/1/18

½ Day for Students: No Class

Fri. 2/2/18

Due:

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 171-175: Rev. A, Ex. 6, Rev. B, Ex. 7
Mon. 2/5/18

Due:

  • TKAM Chapters 12-22
  • EOLang p. 171-175: Rev. A, Ex. 6, Rev. B, Ex. 7

In Class:

Assigned:

  • Complete tone worksheet 2
  • EOLang p. 179-180: Ex. 9, Rev. D
  • Continue reading. The remainder of the novel is due Friday.
Tues. 2/6/18

Due:

In Class:

  • Check grammar
  • Reading time in class.

Assigned:

  • EOLang p.183-184: Rev. E and F
Wed. &
Thurs.
2/7/18
-2/8/18

Thursday: Club Rotation C

Due:

  • EOLang p.183-184: Rev. E and F

In Class:

Assigned:

  • Finish reading the novel!
  • EOLang p.186: Rev. G
Fri. 2/9/18

Due:

In Class:

Assigned:

Mon. 2/12/18

Due:

In Class:

  • Check grammar, review for test
  • Check allegory worksheet
  • Review theme, figures, of speech and other important topics from the novel.
Tues. 2/13/18 In Class:
  • Grammar Test: Chapter 5: Agreement
  • Review theme, figures, of speech and other important topics from the novel.
Wed. &
Thurs.
2/14/16
-2/15/18

In Class:

  • TEST: To Kill a Mockingbird

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 497-498: Parallel Structure: Read page 497 and complete Ex. 7 at the top of page 498
  • Read through your sources! If your topic is on a recent movie, you may want to check the database again for fresh sources!
  • Read the sample research papers and outline. Be familiar with what your final product should look like.
Fri. 2/16/18

Due:

In Class:

  • Discuss parallel structure, thesis, and outline
  • Introduce "Favorite Teacher Contest"

Assigned:

  • Formulate a working thesis and outline. Come in on Tuesday with a printed out copy of your working title, thesis, and outline. Your outlline does not have to be fully developed, but every roman numeral must be broken down into at least an A and a B. Be sure to format this page correctly: see the sample outline.
  • EOLang p. 223-226: Ex. 1 and 2.
  • Begin thinking about ideas for the Favorite Teacher Contest
Mon. 2/19/18

PRESIDENTS DAY: No School

Tues. 2/20/18

Due:

  • Formulate a working thesis and outline. Come in on Tuesday with a printed out copy of your working title, thesis, and outline. Your outlline does not have to be fully developed, but every roman numeral must be broken down into at least an A and a B. Be sure to format this page correctly: see the sample outline.
  • EOLang p. 223-226: Ex. 1 and 2.
  • Begin thinking about ideas for the Favorite Teacher Contest

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 227-230: Ex. 3, Ex. 4, Rev. A, Rev. B
Wed. & Thurs. 2/21/16
-2/22/18

Thursday: Club Rotation E

Due:

  • EOLang p. 227-230: Ex. 3, Ex. 4, Rev. A, Rev. B
  • Revised outline/thesis.

In Class:

Assigned:

  • Complete a source card for an internet, print, and database source. Remember every source card should be a different color (unless you use more than 6 sources) and should have its own number. Put your name and class period on the back of each one.
  • EOLang p. 231-235: Rev. C, D, and E, Ex. 5
Fri. 2/23/18

Due:

  • Complete a source card for an internet, print, and database source. Remember every source card should be a different color (unless you use more than 6 sources) and should have its own number. Put your name and class period on the back of each one.
  • EOLang p. 231-235: Rev. C, D, and E, Ex. 5

In Class:

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 236 Ex. 6, Rev. F
  • Do Who/Whom Practice Sheet to study for Monday quiz over who/whom.
  • Work on your "My Favorite Teacher" contest entry. Don't worry about filling out an entry form. Simply type out your entry and head it as you would any formal, typed assignment. Read the contest description to make sure you are meeting the requirements. This is due Tuesday, but I will add an extra point to your grade if you turn it in on Monday.
Mon. 2/26/18

Due:

In Class:

  • Check grammar
  • Quiz: Who and Whom
  • Discuss Poetry Memory Assignment: Due Monday, March 19.
  • Continue checking source cards

Assigned:

  • Begin choosing poems and getting them approved (Approval due Friday, March 9)
  • EOLang p. 237-239 Rev. G, Ex. 7, Ex. 8 (Rewrite the entire sentence in Ex. 8)
  • Your "My Favorite Teacher" contest entry. Don't worry about filling out an entry form. Simply type out your entry and head it as you would any formal, typed assignment. Read the contest description to make sure you are meeting the requirements.
Tues. 2/27/18

Due:

  • EOLang p. 237-239 Rev. G, Ex. 7, Ex. 8 (Rewrite the entire sentence in Ex. 8)
  • Your "My Favorite Teacher" contest entry. Don't worry about filling out an entry form. Simply type out your entry and head it as you would any formal, typed assignment. Read the contest description to make sure you are meeting the requirements.

Assigned:

  • EOLang p. 241-243: Chapter Review #1-45
Wed. & Thurs. 2/28/18
-3/1/18

Thursday: Club Rotation A

Due:

  • EOLang p. 241-243: Chapter Review #1-45

In Class:

  • Check grammar chapter review
  • Grammar Test: Chapter 7: Using Pronouns Test
Fri. 3/2/18  
Mon. 3/5/18  
Tues. & Wed. 3/6/18
-3/7/18
 
Thurs. 3/8/18 ½ Day for Students: No Class
Fri. 3/9/18 End of 3rd Quarter
Mon. 3/12/18  
Tues. & Wed. 3/13/18
-3/14/18
 
Thurs. 3/15/18  
Fri. 3/16/18  
Mon. 3/19/18  
Tues. 3/20/18  
Wed. 3/21/18  
Thurs. 3/22/18 Parent/Teacher Conferences 3:00-6:00
Fri. 3/23/18 Spirit Week activities: No Class
Mon.-Fri. 3/26/16-
3/30/18
Spring Break!!: No School
Mon. 4/2/18  
Tues. 4/3/18  
Wed. & Thurs. 4/4/18
-4/5/18
 
Fri. 4/6/18  
Mon. 4/9/18  
Tues. &
Wed.
4/10/16
-4/11/18
 
Thurs. 4/12/18  
Fri. 4/13/18  
Mon. 4/16/18  
Tues. 4/17/18  
Wed. 4/18/16  
Thurs. 4/19/18  
Fri. 4/20/16
 
Mon. 4/23/18  
Tues. 4/24/18  
Wed. 4/25/16  
Thurs. 4/26/18  
Fri. 4/27/18  
Mon. 4/30/18  
Tues. 5/1/18 Election Day: No School
Wed. 5/2/18  
Thurs. 5/3/18  
Fri. 5/4/18  
Mon. 5/7/18  
Tues. 5/8/18  
Wed. 5/9/18  
Thurs. 5/10/18  
Fri. 5/11/18  
Mon. 5/14/18  
Tues. 5/15/18  
Wed. 5/16/18  
Thurs. 5/17/18  
Fri. 5/18/18 AP HUG TEST: No Class
Mon. 5/21/18 Final Exams: No Class
Tues. 5/22/18 Final Exams: No Class
Wed. 5/23/18 Final Exams: No Class
Thurs. 5/24/18 Teacher Work Day: No School
Fri. 5/25/18 Last Day for Students: 8am-10:00am

 

Books

There are some outside reading books that we'll be using in class. I believe I will have enough copies to check out Great Expectations and To Kill a Mockingbird to everyone. Of course, you are welcome to bring your own copy if you would like. The other two books are listed below. While I recommend buying these so that you can write in them and save them for future reference, I also understand the need to save money. So feel free to borrow from a friend or check them out of the library.

  • Mythology by Edith Hamilton
    I recommend any edition that has larger print and wider margins for note-taking. However, any edition of this book will be fine.
  • The Odyssey by Homer
    Translated by Robert Fagles
    I recommend the translation by Fagles because it is beautifully written, it is one of the more current and popular translations, and best of all, it is easier for students to read.

Please let me know if you have any questions about these books.